Football: PSV Eindhoven win Dutch title

PSV defeated Heerenveen 4-1 to clinch league championship.

PSV Eindhoven have claimed the league title with three games to spare in Dutch top football division Eredivisie by beating Heerenveen 4-1 on Saturday night.

PSV had not won the title since 2008. 

PSV won the game 4-1 at home in the Philips Stadium. Scorers were Luuk de Jong who found the net twice, Memphis Depay and Luciano Narsingh. Heerenveen’s goal was scored by Joey van den Berg.

Leading the league since the early weeks, PSV won 26 league matches and lost four games out of 31. With 79 points, PSV are now 13 points ahead of second-place rivals Ajax Amsterdam.

In 124 seasons, Ajax Amsterdam have won the most titles with 33. PSV follow with 22 and Feyenoord have 14.